Miss Seeton – Series Review

2017 Limelight Reviews
Author Review, Mystery and Crime

Miss Seeton is not an author, but is the main character in a series of books written by 3 different authors – Hamilton Crane (aka Sarah. J. Mason), Hampton Charles (aka Roy Peter Martin) and Heron Carvic.

Miss Seeton is a retired Arts teacher, who inherits a cottage in a small English village. It is probably best to read the first book in the series “Picture Miss Seeton”, which provides the background to her future adventures.

She inadvertently draws sketches that allow the police to solve crimes. The primary plot element is Miss Seeton finding herself in an awkward situation as a result of logical and ladylike actions. These books have humorous element which I, personally, find enjoyable. The SMSA Library holds many of the books from this series.

Click the links below to discover Miss Seeton novels written by author; 

Hamilton Crane

Hampton Charles

Heron Carvic

Click here for the complete Miss Seeton Book List


Find Miss Seeton novels in the SMSA Library Catalogue.


Tom Thorburn
Director, Board of the SMSA and Life Member