The Country Girls Trilogy by Edna O’Brien

2016 Limelight Reviews
General Fiction

I enjoyed reading The Country Girls Trilogy by Edna O’Brien which is about two Irish girls, Kate and Baba, living in the country and leaving their boring lives to go live in Dublin. There they expect their lives to be full of dancing, parties and romance.

The story follows the girls through their adventures and trauma’s, as they navigate their lives through many diverse and challenging situations.

Although the girls are best friends, they have quite different personalities, which becomes evident as their lives evolve. They learn the wonderful life they envisioned is not so. Their friendship is tested many times, as they experience love, loss, deception and all that life has in store for them.

The Country Girls Trilogy is written with such honesty. It is a great read, especially if you enjoy a long story about friendship, warts and all.

Find The Country Girls Trilogy in the SMSA Library catalogue


Fran Barton
SMSA Member and Volunteer