SMSA’s Board of Directors for 2018

Election Results

On Tuesday, 20 March 2018, the Sydney Mechanics’ School of Arts held its Annual General Meeting.

Eight nominations had been received for five vacant directorships.

The successful candidates, elected by the members, were:

Shirley Hunt
Carole O’Brien
Lesley Scanlon
Eugene Stawski
Geoff Webb

Thanks were also given to the unsuccessful candidates.

As per By-Law 13.2 b. “The Board shall determine which Directors are to fill the offices of Treasurer and Vice Presidents at the first Board meeting after theAnnual General Meeting.” The office holders were appointed at the April 2018 Board meeting and are indicated at left.


The SMSA is constituted by the Act of Incorporation 1886 and the Amended Acts of 1929 and 1940 and governed by our By-laws.

Find out more